Minutes of the Meeting of the Executive Council (ICC) at IITB, Mumbai

(Jan. 15, 2019)

The meeting of the Executive Council of the ICC took place on Jan. 15, 2019 at IITB, Mumbai. Following were present:

Dr. T.S. Datta (Chair) President (IUAC)
Dr. R.G. Sharma Vice President (IUAC)

Prof. M D Atrey
Prof. Kasthurirangan
Prof. Subhash Jacob
Prof. H. B. Naik
Vice President (IITB. Mumbai)
Invitee (IISc. Bangaluru)
Member (Ex IISc, Bangalore)
Member (NIT, Surat)

Dr. TS Radhakrishnan
Dr. Soumen Kar
Prof. R. Singh
Dr. TS Radhakrishnan
Invitee (Ex. IGCAR, Kalpakkam)
Secretary (Administration) (IUAC)
Member (Hyderabad university)
Dr. T. Bhowmick
Member (Tudinous Kryos, Delhi)

11. Dr. U. Bhunia Treasurer, (VECC)

12. Mr Tamal. Bhattacharya Secretary (Technical) (VECC)13. Prof. Parthasarthi Ghosh Member (IIT, Kharagpur)

14. Prof. Sunil Sarangi Vice President (Ex. NIT, Rourkela) 15. Mr Subimal Saha Member (Ex. VECC, Kolkata) 16. Mr. Trilok Singh Invitee (Ex. BARC, Mumbai) 17. Dr. R. K. Bhandari Member (IUAC, Delhi) 18. Mr Parag Kulkani Member (INOX) 19. Dr Anindya Chakraborty Invitee (BARC) Invitee (BARC) 20. Dr Mukesh Goyel 21. Mr. P K Kush Member (RRCAT)

22. Dr V Chopra Invitee (Goodwill Cryogenics, Mumbai)

24. Prof H J Bahirat Invitee (IIT, Mumbai)

The deliberations of the EC started with welcome remarks by Dr. TS Datta who after some introductory remarks, took up items as per the agenda paper.

- 1. The members unanimously confirmed the minutes of the previous EC meeting held on Nov. 19, 2018 at VECC. and few earlier decisions through email regarding the constitution of committee for Life time awards, Fellow and Support to attend ICEC conference.
- 2. Dr. Datta informed the EC that he received three nominations for the award of ICC Fellowship. Based on the recommendation of the Committee, EC approved the decision of the committee not to consider them as fellow based on the criteria (Not Member of ICC, not active with the ICC activity, too early of his career). Total Fellow right now is 36
- 3. It was informed to EC that Prof. R Nagarajan (CBS- DAE Mumbai) and Dr. P.K. Kush (RRCAT) will be getting the coveted ICC Life Time Achievement Award 2019 in the NSCS 27. It was also informed that Awardees will be receiving an Award Money of Rs 25000/- in addition to his TA/DA to receive the award
- 4. In response to a query by a member, it was informed that the total strength of the new ICC Life Members stood at 332 (From 2006) and old members at 331. EC also agreed to club this two list with suitable filtration of old member
- 5. EC was informed that ICC reimbursed the total Registration expenses approx 2.00 lakhs to 4 members who attended ICEC 27- ICMC 2018 at OXFORD in June 2018 and submitted the required bills.
- 6. Dr. R G Sharma, Chief Editor IJC briefed the members about the publication of the Vol. 43 of the Indian Journal of Cryogenics (IJC). Vol. 43 came out in April 2018. and preparation of Vol. 44 will start soon after the NSCS 27 is over. He also told the EC that he had submitted all necessary documents related to the publication of the IJC to UGC for the restoration of the recognition of the IJC. He is following it up. He also mentioned about the constitution of the new Editorial Board which was approved by the previous EC held in November 2018 at VECC.
- 7. Dr. Sharma also proposed to make IJC, an Open Access Journal to increase its readership particularly in view of the small amount of money collected out of subscription. EC agreed with the idea and requested Dr. Sharma to explore this possibility.

- 8. Dr TS Datta told the EC that so far ICC had not been paying any honorarium to the Chief Editor but might have to pay it in future. The EC authorized the President to make such payment if needed in future limited to Rs. 25,000/ per month. Similarly a similar maximum amount (Rs. 20, 000/ PM) may be paid to a professional secretary.
- 9. Dr. Datta also reiterated that the term of the present EC and other office bearers will be ending on 31st March 2020 and GB Meeting is going to be held at NSCS-27 at IITB in Jan 2019 the previous EC approved the list of new nominated EC Members (April 2020- March 2022). This EC Nominated list for next Executive Council will now be presented at the GB tomorrow at IITB for GB approval and election process if any will be initiated.
- 10. It was suggested by the members that many IITs, IISERs and NISERs have been opened in recent times and are involved in low temperature measurements. To induct life members from these centres the President should write letters to the relevant departments introducing to them the ICC activities, about our journal, IJC and the National Symposia that ICC holds regularly.
- 11. Discussion also took place on the ICC account and the income tax return issue. EC was told that the prvious EC had approved the filling of the IT return and pay the income tax for three AYs namely; 2016 2017, 2017 2018, 2018 2019. This amount will be about 13 Lakhs. He also told EC that the closing balance of ICC in total including all Zonal branches as on date stands at ~ 1.75 Crores
- 12. EC decided to have next National symposium of Cryogenics & Superconductivity (NSCS28) in the end of 2020 in North Zone. It was also decided that a request Proposal may be made to LPSC (ISRO) for conducting an workshop on "Cryogenics for space" at the end of 2019 or beginning of 2020
- 13. Dr. Datta also raised the issue of acquiring part of the CRCT land in Kolkata for a permanent HQ building but no discussions were held in the absence of Dr. S.C. Sarkar.
- 14. It was informed about the list of Nominated members of EC for the Next EC (Effective from April 2020) and will be presented to GBM to be held on 16 th January, 2019
- 15. It was also conveyed about Earlier EC decision / Approval on selling the ICC (West Zone) Flat and accordingly ICC Pan Card is handed over to ICC Chairman (West Zone)
- 14. Prof. Subhash Jacob told the EC that the ICEC in its meeting at OXFORD congratulated the ICC and IUAC for organizing a wonderful ICEC 26- ICMC 2018 Conference in Delhi during March 2016. He further mentioned that in future Indians should also bid for ICEC G Klipping award.
- 15. Prof M D Atrey briefed about the NSCS 27 and members appreciated the planning and arrangement.

President (ICC) thanked Prof M. D Atrey from IIT, Mumbai and his team for the local hospitality and support on hosting this meeting

The meeting ended with a vote of thanks to the chair.